Monday, June 18, 2012

LORINE NIEDECKER ~






It's ready!



"The idea for this chapbook, a facsimile edition of the handmade book Lorine Niedecker sent to Cid Corman in 1964, cropped up several years ago."



Homemade PoemsLorine Niedecker
John Harkey, Editor
Series 3, Number 2, Spring 2012
The Center for the Humanities
The Graduate Center
The City University of New York

Limited edition.

Use Paypal? Total including s/h for U.S. orders $33.95








Or, this may be purchased from Longhouse
inquire here ~

poetry@sover.net



Visit my previous "Homemade Poems" posting & film





Lorine with her father Henry Niedecker








4 comments:

Conrad DiDiodato said...

Cid loved her dearly (he says so in his letters); one poet, however (who shall remain nameless)misused & misappropriated horribly both the poet and her writing. From the few poems & letters of hers I've read (and her rather dubious ties to the Objectivists), I can see why Cid held her in reverence.

In Canada she'd have been called a people's poet in the tradition of Crawford, Avison, and Katherine L. Gordon)

Bob Arnold / Longhouse said...

You speak well and on solid ground about all of this Conrad, thank you.

Since I'm Lorine's literary executor, and helped with the book and am selling the book, I won't begin to preach the beauty and original flavor of this once in a lifetime gem. Or have I?

When LN made a book, she made a pie for the windowsill.

all's well, Bob

Ann Engelman said...

Just received this elegant volume. Homemade Poems
Lorine Niedecker
The reproduction of the book Lorine made for Cid Corman is in her handwriting and provides a new dimension to reading her poetry.
Thanks!
Ann Engelman
Friends of Lorine Niedecker

Bob Arnold / Longhouse said...

Thank you, Ann, for the boost, and from Wisconsin — Lorine Niedecker's home.

all's well, Bob